B11 Satellite Participant List

Below is a list of participants at the Berlin 11 Satellite Conference for Students and Early Stage Researchers. 


First Name Last Name Affiliation
Birgit Adam Max Planck Society General Administration
Carolyn Anderson University of California, Davis
Jack Andraka  
Penny Andrews University of Sheffield
Dorcas Aryeetey Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology
John Paul Bagala Gulu University
Martin Ballaschk FMP Berlin, Leibniz-Institut für molekulare Pharmakologie
Ilija Bilic Max Delbruck Centre for Molecular Medicine
Carl-Christian Buhr European Commission
David Carroll Queen’s University Belfast
Sara Cerdas Faculty of Medicine University od Lisbon
Leslie Chan University of Toronto
Anjelika Deogirikar Hertie School of Governance / Georgetown
Benedikt Fecher HIIG
Patrick Flack Charles University Prague
Andre Franca LMU Munich
Matthias Fromm Free University Berlin / Freelancer
Dor Garbash CRI
Harriet Gliddon Imperial College London
Stian Haklev University of Toronto
Ahmed Hassan Mansoura University Faculty of Medicine
Marie Hauerslev University of Aarhus
Mats Haug SAIH
A’man Inayah Alfaisal University
Heather Joseph SPARC
Roshan Karn Tribhuwan University Teaching Hospital
Stefan Kasberger University of Graz
Iryna Kuchma EIFL
Eva Lien SAIH
Prateek Mahalwar Max Planck PhDnet
Gabriella Marino Pontifical Academy of Science
Joseph Mcarthur University College London
Jai Kumar Mediratta University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Daniel Mietchen Museum für Naturkunde
Ross Mounce Open Knowledge Foundation
Ayoub Msalilwa International Medical & Technological University
Daniel Mutonga University of Nairobi
Ilia Nadareishvili Davit Tvildiani Medical University
Uvania Naidoo University of Cape Town
Cameron Neylon PLOS
Meredith Niles NAGPS
Lucy Patterson Max Delbrück Center (MDC)
Mark Patterson eLife
Daniel Payne Robert Gordon University (Scotland)
Anna Pechenina University of North Texas
Tom Pollard Ubiquity Press
Dimitar Poposki University of Zagreb
Ulrich Pöschl Max Planck Institute
Slobodan Radicev Eurodoc
Thilo Rattay BVMD, IFMSA
Bernard Rentier University of Liège
Kostas Repanas Agency for Science, Technology and Research
Sofia Ribeiro EMSA
Jason Robertson Central Michigan University / University of Fribourg
Adam Roddy University of California, Berkeley
Katarzyna Rybicka Jagiellonian University
Shervin Safavi Max Planck Institute for Biological Cybernetics
William Schuerman MPI for Psycholinguistics
Christopher Schürmann BVMD, IFMSA
Nick Shockey R2RC
Jovan Shopovski Macedonian Union of Young Researchers
Raniere Silva University of Campinas
Elena Simukovic Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
Ingrid Solheim University of Bergen
Kimberly Solovy University of Maryland, Baltimore
Alek Tarkowsi Creative Commons Poland
Angelica Tavella University of California Berkeley
Georgina Taylor University of Tasmania
Mike Taylor University of Bristol
Darcy Thompson Lund University
Daniel Tobon Universidad Tecnologica de Pereira
Tracey Vantyghem University of British Columbia
Ashley Wills Erasmus Medical Centre Rotterdam
Marcin Wojnarski University of Warsaw
Yan Zhu Stanford University

Live Webcast of B11 Satellite


We will live webcast the Berlin 11 Satellite Conference for Students and Early Stage Researchers at this URL, starting at 09:00 CET on November 18th. The webcast is free and open to all, and online participants will be able to participate remotely through Twitter using the conference hashtag #berlin11. Please share the link to the webcast with any individuals or organizations who may be interested in participating remotely.

The webcast will be embedded in this page just before the conference begins on Monday morning.

Berlin 11 Satellite Conference


In conjunction with this year’s Berlin 11 Open Access meeting, the Max Planck Society and Right to Research Coalition will host the first-ever satellite conference to the Berlin conference series specifically for students and early stage researchers on November 18th in Berlin, Germany.  The meeting will feature presentations from leading voices of the Open Access community and will foster a discussion around the current state of Open Access, the unique challenges and opportunities students and early stage researchers face in the transition to Open Access, and how attendees can catalyze this transition.

This new satellite conference reflects the importance of students and early stage researchers as the next generation of scholars and the impact these groups are already having in opening up scholarly communication.  The agenda will be specifically tailored to the position of students and early stage researchers within the scholarly communication system.  It will address both the power these groups have to create change as well as the challenges early-career researchers face from a scholarly publishing system in transition.